Avril Lavigne – Complicated

Ik hoorde dit nummer van Avril Lavigne vanavond op de radio en moest onwillekeurig terugdenken aan een oude vlam van me. Leuke vent, maar ook een met twee kanten. Was ik alleen met hem, dan was hij geweldig en liet hij zichzelf zien. Was er ‘publiek’, dan had ie voor de hele wereld aandacht, behalve voor mij. Wilde ik hem aan de telefoon spreken, dan moest ik echt doorzetten. Eerst tien minuten slikken dat hij amper naar me luisterde en dan had ik hem. En toch, die momenten dat ik zijn aandacht wel had, maakten het waard die andere kant te slikken. Althans op dat moment. Het is inmiddels jaren geleden. We pasten niet bij elkaar, wat hij waarschijnlijk allang door had. Ik hoop dat hij inmiddels wel 100% zichzelf is, want die man is echt heel leuk.

I heard this song of Avril Lavigne on the radio this evening. It reminded me of someone I loved a long time ago. A really nice guy when I was alone with him, but once there was an ‘audience’ he was completely occupied with others and didn’t see me anymore. If I called him on his phone, he hardly listened for the first ten minutes. But still, those moments when I did have his attention, or when he did show who he was, made it all worth it. That is: at that time. It didn’t last, we were not made for eachother. He probably knew that long before I did. It’s been years since we last saw eachother. I hope by now he knows that he doesn’t need to put up a show, to be liked. Cause he really is a good man.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

