LL Cool J – Mama said knock you out

Vandaag precies een jaar geleden stortte mijn wereld in. En of ik nou wil of niet, in gedachten beleef ik het deze week allemaal opnieuw. De onderzoeken, de blikken, de uitslag. Loodzware momenten, maar ik ontdekte ook dat er een enorme vechtlust in me boven kwam. Een die ik daarvoor nooit nodig heb gehad. Ik herinner me dat ik de arts die me het slechte nieuws bracht, antwoordde met de woorden: “Maar ik word 83, dus vertel maar hoe we dat gaan doen.” Ik realiseer me dat ik geluk heb gehad, de behandeling sloeg fantastisch aan en die 83 is ineens weer haalbaar. Die vechtlust, zal ik nooit meer loslaten. Mama said knock you out van LL Cool J leek me op zijn plaats vandaag.

Today, exactely one year ago my world collapsed. And whether I like it or not, I’m reliving it all this week. The examinations, the stares, the results. It was all devistating. But I also discovered a power to fight this. A spirit I’d never experienced or needed before. I remember answering the doctor who told me the bad news: “But I will live to be 83, so tell me how I’m gonna do so.” I realise now, I’ve been very Lucky. The treatment worked so well that 83 is indeed a possibility. That fighting spirit is something I will never let go. Mama Said Knock You Out by LL Cool J seemed to be the right song for today.

One response to “LL Cool J – Mama said knock you out

  1. Sigrid

    Stoer nummer, stoer mens! Dat jaar heb je maar mooi even aangepakt. x

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

